This website is operational and being finalised until the launch date. Launch date to be announced in due course.
ASEAN Leaders’ Declaration on Sustainable Resilience
date_range5 September, 2023

WE, the Members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand, and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam stand in solidarity on the occasion of the 43rd ASEAN Summit in Jakarta, on 5 September 2023;

NOTING the escalating uncertainty and complexity of the disaster risk landscape in the region and interconnected transboundary risks and threats due to multi-layered compounding natural hazards, increasing systemic risk, and the interrelated challenges of risks posed by growing population, rapid urbanisation, impacts of climate change, and unsustainable utilisation of land resources, resulting in negative environmental, social, and economic consequences and other crises, such as persistent impact from pandemics, air and plastics pollution, soil degradation, and global warming, and the need to strengthen the resiliency of the ASEAN Community;


Download the full declaration here.

share Facebook Twitter Linkedin WhatsApp