This website is operational and being finalised until the launch date. Launch date to be announced in due course.
About ASEAN Cooperation on Environment

About ASEAN Cooperation on Environment

Recognising the importance of environmental cooperation for sustainable development and regional integration, ASEAN has since 1977 cooperated closely in promoting environmental cooperation among its Member States. ASEAN cooperation on the environment is currently guided by the ASCC Blueprint 2025 which envisions an ASEAN Community that engages and benefits the peoples and is inclusive, sustainable, resilient, and dynamic. Guided by the Vision, the ASEAN Cooperation on Environment particularly focuses on the following key result areas under the characteristic Sustainable of the ASCC Blueprint 2025.




  • Conservation and Sustainable Management of Biodiversity and Natural Resources
  • Environmentally Sustainable Cities
  • Sustainable Climate
  • Sustainable Consumption and Production



An ASEAN strategic plan on environment is currently being developed to translate the ASCC Blueprint 2025 into a more detailed plan of actions which shall serve as a guiding document for ASEAN in promoting ASEAN cooperation on environment until 2025. Seven strategic priorities have been identified under the strategic plan:


  1. Nature conservation and biodiversity
  2. Coastal and marine environment
  3. Water resources management
  4. Environmentally sustainable cities
  5. Climate change
  6. Chemicals and waste
  7. Environmental education and sustainable consumption and production



Major Sectoral Bodies/Committees


The institutional framework of the ASEAN Cooperation on Environment consists of the ASEAN Ministerial Meeting on the Environment (AMME), ASEAN Senior Officials on the Environment (ASOEN), and seven subsidiary bodies / working groups, following the identified strategic priorities:


  1. ASEAN Working Group on Climate Change (AWGCC)
  2. ASEAN Working Group on Chemicals and Waste (AWGCW)
  3. ASEAN Working Group on Coastal and Marine Environment (AWGCME)
  4. ASEAN Working Group on Environmental Education (AWGEE)
  5. ASEAN Working Group on Environmentally Sustainable Cities (AWGESC)
  6. ASEAN Working Group on Nature Conservation and Biodiversity (AWGNCB)
  7. ASEAN Working Group on Water Resources Management (AWGWRM)


*ACB: ASEAN Centre for Biodiversity
**CAEC: China - ASEAN Environmental Cooperation Center

***AIGE: ASEAN Institute for Green Economy


The AMME meets once every two years, while ASOEN and its subsidiary bodies convene annual meetings to oversee the implementation of ASEAN Cooperation on Environment and the ASCC Blueprint 2025. The AMME aims to identify and implement regional policies, measures and programmes to promote environmental protection and sustainable development. Meanwhile, the ASOEN meetings strive to promote coordination and foster collaboration and partnerships with other ASEAN sectoral bodies, ASEAN Dialogue Partners, Sectoral Dialogue Partners and Development Partners, international organisations, and relevant stakeholders to address common and cross-cutting environmental issues.