ASEAN Agreement on Transboundary Haze Pollution

ASEAN Secretariat. 2006

The Agreement was signed by the ASEAN Environment Ministers during the 9th ASEAN Ministerial Meeting on Haze (AMMH) on 10 July 2002, in Kuala Lumpur , Malaysia . To date, eight ASEAN Member Countries has ratified the Agreement, namely, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, and Viet Nam.

The Agreement provide guidance on m onitoring and assessment; prevention; preparedness; national emergency response; joint emergency response through provision of assistance; procedures for deployment of people, materials and equipment across border in the event of transboundary haze pollution and technical cooperation and scientific research.

The Agreement also necessitate a country to provide quick response, such as information, forest fire mitigation resources or consultation to the requesting party during critical land and forest fire incidents; facilitate the establishment of ASEAN Coordinating Centre for Transboundary Haze Pollution (ACC) ; p rovide a framework for the member countries to strengthen and refine its national policy in land and forest fire mitigation; and provide a framework to develop the national standard operating procedures.

Posted in Uncategorized.